Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

High Schools

Section Title

Students engaged


District Staff Calendar


The State of North Carolina passed HB 986 enabling qualifying school districts to become a renewal district. Currently only Rowan-Salisbury Schools district qualifies. On June 28th the RSS Board of Education elected to participate in this program. Click for details.

Today the General Assembly passed an Education Bill (H986) which would allow Rowan-Salisbury Schools the opportunity to become a Renewal School System.

Thank you for inspiring us

Candace Salmon-Hosey

Candace Salmon-Hosey is the recipient of the (Chief Information Officer) CIO of the Year ORBIE Award for the Education category.  The award is presented through the Charlotte CIO Leadership Association. The ORBIE Award recognizes chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.  Finalists and winners are selected through an independent peer review process. The ORBIE is the premier technology executive recognition program of its kind.

Kelly Feimster

Kelly Feimster, RSS Director for Instructional Programs, is the recipient of the  "2018 NCMEA Honor Administrator” award presented by the NC Music Educators Association (NCMEA). The award honors a school administrator that demonstrates that the arts, in particular music, are an indispensable part of the school curriculum. 

The mission of NCMEA is to advance music education by promoting the understanding and making of music by all.

Theresa Pierce

Theresa Pierce, World & History Teacher at RCEC received the NCGE “2018 Distinguished Teacher Achievement Award” for Excellence in Geography Teaching. The award was present at the annual National Conference on Geography Education held in Quebec Canada in early August.

The National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE) is a non-profit organization, chartered in 1915 to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning.

Cheryl Lange

Corriher-Lipe Middle School's Cheryl Lange is the State Media Coordinator of the Year