Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

High Schools

Section Title

Students succeeding


Welcome to the North Rowan High School Webpage. North Rowan high School is located in the northern end of Rowan County in Spencer, North Carolina. It is part of the Rowan–Salisbury School System.

Meet our Faculty Here!


In the spring of 1959, North Rowan High School was accredited by the Southern Association of Secondary Schools and Colleges. The first principal of North Rowan was Johnson H. Steelman. Camden was the second.

The James Carr Eagle Athletic Field

On August 4, 1958, the Rowan County Board voted unanimously to name the North Rowan High School athletic field "The James Carr Eagle Athletic Field". On September 21, 1958, the building was dedicated with Dr. Charles Carroll, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, as speaker at the ceremonies.


Begun in 2001 by the class of 1973, the North Rowan Alumni Memorial Scholarship has assisted nine outstanding graduates with college expenses. These students are currently enrolled in college. The campaign goal is to create a fund of $500,000.00 from which the earnings will be used to fund a full four-year tuition scholarship for a graduate of North Rowan High School deemed worthy.


The Current principal is Meredith Williams, with Community Principal, Alexis Cowan and the Assistant Principals are Rebecca Rolfsmeyer and Jonathan Clark


According to the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, for the 2016–2017 school year, North Rowan High School is classified as a 2A school and competes in the Central Carolina Conference. The school's mascot is the Cavaliers, wearing the school colors of kelly green, white, and gold.