Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

High Schools

RSS Announces New Executive Directors
headshots of dixon, hairston and zehmer


The Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education named Shonda Hairston and Brooke Zehmer as new Executive Directors of Elementary Schools and named Ronald Dixon, Jr. as the new Executive Director of Middle Schools beginning in July.

Hairston, a 28-year veteran of RSS, has served as principal of Knollwood Elementary School since 2007.  Previously, she served as an assistant principal and teacher in the district since 1993.  Hairston earned her Master of School Leadership from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in 2006 and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Charlotte.

Zehmer began her teaching career in Lexington, Virginia.  She came to RSS as principal of Landis Elementary in 2015.  A 24-year veteran, she also served as an assistant principal and teacher in neighboring districts, and worked as an adjunct professor at Davidson County Community College.  Zehmer obtained her Master of Education from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, where she was a North Carolina Principal Fellow.  She also obtained a bachelor’s degree from James Madison University.

Dixon has served as principal of South Asheboro Middle School since 2016, and was a principal, assistant principal and teacher for Guilford County Schools.  Dixon is a 20-year veteran educator.  He earned his Specialist in Education from Liberty University in 2017, a Master of Science in School Administration and a bachelor’s degree from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University.

“Each of these highly competent professionals possesses the skills and abilities to support schools and educators in their work to advance the directional system and support student outcomes.  I look forward to working with each of these new executive directors to support the emerging priorities coming out of our strategic planning work,” said Superintendent, Dr. Tony B. Watlington.



Choral students and their teacher

Jakein Johnson, Ethan Cardwell, and Xavier Vaughters, all tenors with the West Rowan High School Honors chorus, were chosen to be part of the NC Honors Chorus event at Wingate University.